Envision our
                common ground in
2050
       Envision our
                common ground in
2050
2050
       Envision our
                common ground in
Transform our
urban realms and
adapt them to the
climate change
Transform our
urban realms and
adapt them to the
climate change
Transform our
urban realms and
adapt them to the
climate change
Design a
desirable
future for
our communities
Design a
desirable
future for
our communities
Design a
desirable
future for
our communities
Accelerate
the transition
towards a
Sustainable society
Accelerate
the transition
towards a
sustainable society
Accelerate
the transition
towards a
sustainable society
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Launched by the Department of Spatial Planning of the Ministry of Energy and Spatial Planning, the urban-architectural and landscape consultation entitled Luxembourg in Transition – Spatial visions for the low-carbon and sustainable future of the Luxembourg functional region aims to gather strategic spatial planning proposals and produce “towards 2050” ecological transition scenarios for the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and neighbouring border territories. It was inspired by other large-scale consultations that have been conducted, such as those for Greater Paris and Greater Geneva.

This international consultation is aimed at professionals, but also universities, technical institutes and research organisations with expertise in the fields of spatial planning, urban planning, landscape and architecture, supported by environmental disciplines as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Luxembourg in Transition is a process that encourages the formation of multidisciplinary teams from diverse backgrounds for a new transitional and resilient approach to spatial planning. Rather than a competition between teams, this is a call for bold ideas that will be developed in parallel, to accompany the actions of decision-makers in years to come and to strengthen the support of citizens for a collective project involving a profound transformation of their way of life through inspiring visions (“desirable futures”) and concrete ideas for actions, infrastructure and spatial planning.

The project’s vision

Claude Turmes

Minister for Spatial Planning

An innovative approach

Panos Mantziaras

Scientific Director of the Consultation

Imaginer notre
                territoire commun en
2050
       Imaginer notre
                territoire commun en
2050
2050
       Imaginer notre
                territoire commun en
Transformer
nos espaces urbains
et les préparer au
défi climatique
Transformer
nos espaces urbains
et les préparer au
défi climatique
Transformer
nos espaces urbains
et les préparer au
défi climatique
Construire
un futur
désirable pour
les citoyens
Construire
un futur
désirable pour
les citoyens
Construire
un futur
désirable pour
les citoyens
Accélérer
la transition
vers une société
durable
Accélérer
la transition
vers une société
durable
Accélérer
la transition
vers une société
durable
previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Lancée par le Département de l’aménagement du territoire du Ministère de l’Énergie et de l’Aménagement du territoire, la consultation urbano-architecturale et paysagère Luxembourg in TransitionVisions territoriales pour le futur décarboné et résilient de la région fonctionnelle luxembourgeoise vise à réunir des propositions stratégiques d’aménagement du territoire et à produire des scénarios de transition écologique à l’horizon 2050 pour le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et ses territoires frontaliers. Elle s’inspire des grandes consultations menées telles que celles du Grand Paris ou du Grand Genève.

Cette consultation internationale s’adresse aux professionnels mais également aux universités, écoles supérieures techniques et organismes de recherche ayant une expertise dans les domaines de l’aménagement du territoire, de l’urbanisme, du paysage et de l’architecture, soutenus par les disciplines de l’environnement ainsi que les sciences humaines et sociales.

Luxembourg in Transition est un processus qui encourage la formation d’équipes pluridisciplinaires issues d’horizons divers pour une nouvelle approche transitionnelle et résiliente du territoire. Plutôt qu’un concours entre équipes, il s’agit d’un appel à idées audacieuses qui seront développées de manière parallèle afin d’accompagner l’action des décideurs pour les années à venir et de renforcer, par des visions inspirantes (futurs désirables) et des idées concrètes d’actions, d’infrastructures et d’aménagement, l’adhésion des citoyens au projet collectif d’une transformation profonde de leur mode de vie.